Webinar on Tactical Urbanism: Changing cities and neighbourhoods with bottom-up planning and design

Webinar on Tactical Urbanism: Changing cities and neighbourhoods with bottom-up planning and design

Dear Colleagues,

We cordially invite you to join the SUTP-Webinar on Friday, October 20, 13:00 UTC (other time zones below). Feel free to share this information with interested contacts at all relevant levels.

Mike Lydon, an experienced Urban Planner in New York City, coined the term “Tactical Urbanism” to describe bottom-up, community-led urban interventions in different scales – a street, a square, a whole neighbourhood. These actions often times lead to deep-rooted changes in the urban scape and also in the collaboration with local planning authorities. In this webinar, we’ll explore the potentials and restrictions of Tactical Urbanism in helping to forge more liveable communities and a more democratic planning culture.

For warming up, you can watch Streetfilm’s video on Tactical Urbanism:  

Background

In different cities and contexts, urban planning practices can be quite similar: experts sitting around a table, upstairs in the building of local planning authorities, make most decisions on the design of a street, a block or a whole city by themselves.

In other words, the top-down approach is still state-of-the-art in urban and mobility planning around the globe. Nevertheless, this decision-making style does rarely correspond with citizens’ wishes and requirements – especially if there is a lack of good practice on citizen involvement and true stakeholder dialogue.

However, a grey zone has appeared between the expectations and realities of planning - the so-called Tactical Urbanism: through small-scale, usually short-term actions, citizens begin to disturb the order of things. Play streets, self-painted cycle lanes, pavement to park (parklets) areas… the list of tactical urbanism action fields is almost infinite. Although most of these tactics are effectively bottom-up, namely planned and performed by local citizens, many municipal departments have acknowledged the qualities of such actions and started to encourage or test them themselves. Planners, however, still often feel unsure about the idea of a more de-regulated, horizontal and temporary planning praxis.

Guiding questions to be discussed during this webinar:

- How do planners and authorities think about and react on Tactical Urbanism?

- How can Tactical Urbanism change the way cities and urban mobility are planned?

- What are the benefits and entry points for Tactical Urbanism?

 

DATE: Friday ,October 20, 2017

TIME:

08:00 – 09:00 Mexico City, Quito, Bogotá (UTC-5)

09:00 – 10:00 New York City, Caracas, (UTC-4)

10:00 – 11:00 Buenos Aires, Asunción (UTC-3)

11:00 – 12:00 Brasília (UTC-2)

13:00 – 14:00 Accra, Conakry, Dakar (UTC)

14:00 – 15:00 Luanda, Rabat, Tunis (UTC+1)

15:00 – 16:00 Kigali, Windhoek, Maputo (UTC+2)

16:00 – 17:00 Addis Ababa, Riyadh, Nairobi (UTC+3)

18:30 – 19:30 New Delhi (UTC+5,5)

20:00 – 21:00 Jakarta, Bangkok (UTC+7)

21:00 – 22:00 Beijing, Kuala Lumpur, Manila (UTC+8)

 

>>>REGISTER here!<<<

 

About the Speaker: Mike Lydon – Principal, Street Plans / Author of ‘Tactical Urbanism'

Mike Lydon is a Principal with Street Plans and leads the firm’s New York City office. Mike is the creator of the The Open Streets Project and the globally acclaimed Tactical Urbanism: Short-Term Action, Long-Term Change Vol. 1 – 5. With Tony Garcia, Mike is the recipient of the 2017 Seaside Prize and co-author of Tactical Urbanism (Island Press, 2015), named by Planetizen as one of the top ten planning books of the year. Mike collaborated with Andres Duany and Jeff Speck in writing The Smart Growth Manual (McGraw-Hill, 2009), and most recently co-authored The Tactical Urbanist's Guide to Materials and Design (2016) with the support of the Knight Foundation. Mike received a B.A. in American Cultural Studies from Bates College and a Masters in Urban Planning from the University of Michigan.

Learn more about Mike and his work here:

http://www.street-plans.com/

https://twitter.com/MikeLydon

https://www.instagram.com/mikelydon11/

 

 

Go back